ANOS Vic. Logo

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up

Monthly meetings are resuming in 2021 with the following restrictions:

  • The Glen Waverley Community Centre is limited to 90 people for a maximum of 3 hours
  • You must book your attendance, prior to arrival, with the secretary, providing your name and phone number
  • You must user sanitiser on entry to the hall
  • You must wear a face mask in the hall
  • You must register on the attendance sheet
  • There will be limited space for plant displays
  • Tea, coffee and water will be available but no supper will be served
  • There will be no raffle or sales table
  • Membership payments will be accepted at the meeting by credit card only

  • Epiphyte group meetings in homes are still suspended until government size restrictions are lifted.

    Field trips and conservation activities are largely resuming as normal but members wishing to attend any of these activities must register prior to attending. Registration details are published in the Monthly Bulletin.

    All activities listed below are subject to compliance with government COVID-19 restrictions and could be cancelled at short notice.
    Registering with the activity organiser will enable you to be notified of any last minute changes.

    9/04/21 - April Meeting

    Dr. Jürg von Känel presenting "Native Orchids of Switzerland".

    10/04/21 - Terrestrial Seed Group

    Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

    11/04/21 - Epiphyte Study Group

    Hosted by George & Fran Byrne-Dimos.

    12/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

    18/04/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Day trip to Melbourne's north-east suburbs.

    20/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton North.

    24/04/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Day trip to Werribee Gorge.

    26/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

    2-6/05/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Extended trip to Noorinbee area.

    7/05/21 - May Meeting

    Speaker and prestentation topic TBA.


    The Gerald McCraith Student Native Orchid Research Prize is an initiative created by ANOS Victoria to honour Gerald's memory and his passion for orchids.  It has been set up to encourage tertiary botany students to specialise in Australian native orchid research thereby furthering our knowledge for orchid conservation. 

    This prize has been established from a bequest from Gerald McCraith's estate and ANOS Victoria conservation funds.

    Paracaleana minor

    Application Requirements

    This prize aims to promote academic research into Australian native orchids and acknowledge excellence in student orchid research.

    The annual prize of $1000 will be awarded to a student studying at a tertiary education institution in Victoria, Australia that completed a research qualification at Honours, Masters or Doctorate level in the previous year.

    The prize winner shall be subjectively determined by a sub-committee of the Australasian Native Orchid Society (Victorian Group) Inc. from summary reports of the research submitted by students along with their application. 

    The only requirement on behalf of the winning candidate is to present the Gerald McCraith Lecture on the topic of their research to the members of ANOS Victoria, at a time and place agreeable to both parties.

    Application forms for the ANOS Victoria Gerald McCraith Student Native Orchid Research Prize are available and should be submitted by 31st January for research completed in the previous year. Please make sure that all eligible applicants (anyone who submits an Honours, M.Sc. or Ph.D thesis during the previous calender year on the topic of Australian native orchids) are made aware of this prize.

    Download a copy of the Application Form.

    Applications close on 31st January for research completed in the previous calender year.

    For further information please contact the Gerald McCraith Award Sub-Committee .

    Corysanthes diemenicus

    Prize Winners

    Honour Board
    2011 Freya Thomas "Batesian Mimicry Breakdown in Thelymitra"
    2012-2013 Not Awarded
    2014 Shalika Mehra "Nutritional and Genetic Diversity in Orchid Mycorrhizal Fungi From Caladenia Species"
    2015-2020 Not Awarded