ANOS Vic. Logo

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up

Monthly meetings are resuming in 2021 with the following restrictions:

  • The Glen Waverley Community Centre is limited to 90 people for a maximum of 3 hours
  • You must book your attendance, prior to arrival, with the secretary, providing your name and phone number
  • You must user sanitiser on entry to the hall
  • You must wear a face mask in the hall
  • You must register on the attendance sheet
  • There will be limited space for plant displays
  • Tea, coffee and water will be available but no supper will be served
  • There will be no raffle or sales table
  • Membership payments will be accepted at the meeting by credit card only

  • Epiphyte group meetings in homes are still suspended until government size restrictions are lifted.

    Field trips and conservation activities are largely resuming as normal but members wishing to attend any of these activities must register prior to attending. Registration details are published in the Monthly Bulletin.

    All activities listed below are subject to compliance with government COVID-19 restrictions and could be cancelled at short notice.
    Registering with the activity organiser will enable you to be notified of any last minute changes.

    9/04/21 - April Meeting

    Dr. Jürg von Känel presenting "Native Orchids of Switzerland".

    10/04/21 - Terrestrial Seed Group

    Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

    11/04/21 - Epiphyte Study Group

    Hosted by George & Fran Byrne-Dimos.

    12/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

    18/04/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Day trip to Melbourne's north-east suburbs.

    20/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton North.

    24/04/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Day trip to Werribee Gorge.

    26/04/21 - Conservation Group

    Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

    2-6/05/21 - Terrestrial Study Group

    Extended trip to Noorinbee area.

    7/05/21 - May Meeting

    Speaker and prestentation topic TBA.


    The inaugural meeting of the Australasian Native Orchid Society (Victorian Group) was held on the 16 August 1968 at the Victorian Railways Institute, Flinders Street, Melbourne.  At that meeting there were 25 people present and the elected office bearers were:

    • President - Les Raynes
    • Vice President - Alan Home
    • Committee - David Jones, Ray Smith & Dick Smith

    At that meeting Bill Murdoch from Coal Point in NSW was the guest of honour and spoke on the cultivation of native orchids.  Bill was a co-founder of the ANOS parent group.  The committee resolved to book the lecture hall at the National Herbarium for subsequent meetings.

    At the Following meeting in October, Bill Murdoch was awarded the first life membership of ANOS Vic. for his efforts in establishing ANOS and for his continuing endeavours on behalf of native orchids.

    The Herbarium became our home until 1994, except for a period between November 1987 and July 1989, while the Herbarium was being renovated.  During the break we held our meetings either at the Royal Victorian Horticultural Society Hall in Victoria Street, Melbourne or at the West Hawthorn Uniting Church Hall.  We departed the Herbarium in October 1994, spent a few months at the St. Lukes Anglican Church Hall in Dorcas Street, South Melbourne, and transferred to the Burnley Horticultural College in March 1995.  Burnley Horticultural College proved to be a good home for our meetings, but after eleven years of residence the cost of remaining there could no longer be justified.  So in 2006 we had to look for a new home for our meetings and settled in at the Toorak Uniting Church Hall. Unfortunately, history repeated itself and after twelve years at the Toorak Uniting Church Hall the rising cost of the hall rental became exhorbitant and we had to move once again. So at the start of 2019 we found a new home for our meetings at the Glen Waverley Community Centre.

    ANOS Vic. has continually published a Bulletin since its establishment.  Les Raynes was the first Editor and the inaugural Bulletin totalled four pages.  Les was the Editor for two and a half years, followed by John Fanning for four years, Helen Richards for four years, Paul Phillips for ten years and Helene Wild for the past thirty years.  Today our Bulletin is fourteen pages and a printed version is available in black and white or a full colour version is available by e-mail.

    • 13 October 1968 - First field trip visited Warneet with 35 members in attendance
    • September 1969 - First Spring Show (members only)
    • November 1970 - Tuber Bank established
    • 1971 - Calochilus richiae adopted as society emblem
    • 1977 - Terrestrial Study Group established
    • October 1978 - First Spring Show open to the general public
    • 1984 - First edition of "Cultivation of Australian Native Orchids" is published
    • 1984 - New Members Group established
    • 1985 - Epiphyte Study Group established
    • 1988 - Second edition of "Cultivation of Australian Native Orchids" is published
    • 1999 - Seed Propagation Group established
    • October 2000 - Host of the 4th ANOS Conference and Show
    • July 2006 - ANOS Victoria is joint winner with Department of Sustainability and Environment, Parks Victoria, Royal Botanic Gardens - Melbourne, Melbourne University, Victoria University and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University in the Prime Minister's Banksia Awards for the Environment in the category of Land and Biodiversity.  This is to recognize the cooperative work done by all the groups in orchid conservation.  The submission was titled "Back from the Brink: Saving Victoria's Threatened Orchids "
    • August 2018 - ANOS Victoria celebrates its 50th Anniversary
    Presidents Term of Service
    Les W. Raynes 1968 - 1973
    Alan Home 1973 - 1974
    David Cannon 1974 - 1975
    Ray W. Smith 1975 - 1976
    John B. Fanning 1976 - 1979
    Rick Wootton 1979 - 1981
    Rick Datodi 1981 - 1984
    Helen Richards OAM 1984 - 1987
    Don Smith 1987 - 1992
    Alex Wild 1992 - 1994
    Murray Harding 1994 - 1996
    Doug Lee 1996 - 1998
    Tony Slater 1998 - 2002
    George Byrne-Dimos 2002 - 2005
    Andrew Dilley 2005 - 2008
    Mike Duncan 2008 - 2011
    Graham Tootell 2011 - 2014
    Richard Austin 2014 - 2017
    George Byrne-Dimos 2017 - Present


    Life Members Awarded
    Bill Murdoch* 1968
    Les W. Raynes 1972
    David Cannon 1977
    David L. Jones 1977
    Ray W. Smith* 1978
    Alan Home* 1978
    Rick Datodi 1978
    John B Fanning* 1979
    Jack Vaughan* 1981
    Gerald McCraith* 1981
    Helen Richards OAM 1989
    Ken* & Olive Killian* 1991
    Leon W. Irwin* 1992
    Don Smith 1993
    Dean Shannon* 1994
    Helene & Alex Wild 1998
    Lorraine Marshall* 1998
    Doug Lee 2001
    Tony Slater 2002
    Richard & Marion Thomson 2004
    George Byrne-Dimos 2008
    Andrew & Sue Dilley 2009
    Michael Duncan 2013
    Stan Harper 2013
    Godfred Oesch 2013
    Russell Mawson 2018
      * Deceased